Skip to Main Content
Black and white image of people on campus walkway


Rod Jones at Western Australia Education fair in 1994

Our story

Our story began in 1994 when Navitas founders, Rod Jones and Peter Larson, pioneered an innovative university pathway concept. Their vision was to help students from around the world realise their higher education ambitions by providing supportive pathways to university study in Australia.

Edith Cowan University became our first university partner, with the opening of the Perth Institute of Business and Technology (PIBT).

IBT Education fair image

Pathway colleges

Within a decade of opening our first pathway college we’d established six colleges offering university pathway programs across Australia. In 2000 we took the pathway model to the UK.

We now have partnerships with 38 universities in Australia, New Zealand, the USA, Canada, the UK, the Netherlands, Germany, and more. The program has been so successful with international students that many of our colleges have extended their pathway offering to domestic students.

Curtin University Singapore original campus

Global campuses

In 2008 we partnered with Curtin University to open and operate their Curtin Singapore campus. This partnership allowed students from Singapore and neighbouring countries to experience an Australian Curtin University degree.

Now, we’re the world leader in managing campuses, bringing high-quality international opportunity to more universities.

SAE campus reception

Independent educators

Alongside the growth of university partnerships, we have built an impressive portfolio of stand-alone colleges offering higher education. We’re now Australia’s largest independent education provider.

In 2005, we welcomed the ACL Group, now Navitas English. Today we are the largest provider of English language training in Australia. We saw the acquisition of ACAP – the Australian College of Applied Professions in 2006, followed by SAE Creative Media Institute in 2011, and the Australian School of Applied Management, or ASAM, now Women & Leadership Australia, in 2017.

Navitas timeline


PIBT (now Edith Cowan College) founded in partnership with Edith Cowan University in Perth, Australia


After the success of the founding pathway model, new partnerships formed – Macquarie University (Sydney), Deakin University (Melbourne) and Eynesbury College (Adelaide).


Expansion continued as partnership commences with Griffith University in Queensland.


New partnership with Curtin University (Perth) and our first international partnership, University of Hertfordshire.


SAIBT formed in partnership with the University of South Australia.


International expansion continued as Brunel University London partnership commenced.


Listed on ASX as IBT Education


Our education offerings expanded with the acquisition of ACL (now Navitas English).


Acquisition of ACAP and first North American partnership formed with Simon Fraser University in Canada.


New partnerships formed with Swansea University (UK), Anglia Ruskin University (UK) and University of Manitoba (Canada). IBT Education rebrands to Navitas.


UK Expansion continues as partnerships with the University of Portsmouth and University of Plymouth are announced.


New partnerships with La Trobe University (Melbourne, Australia); University of Massachusetts (Boston, Dartmouth and Lowell, USA); University of Newcastle (Australia), Edinburgh Napier University (Scotland) and Robert Gordon University (Aberdeen, Scotland).


Acquisition of SAE.


Birmingham City University partnership announced.


First New Zealand partnership announced – The University of Canterbury (Christchurch).


The University of Northampton (UK) partnership commences.


Further Australian expansion as partnerships with Western Sydney University and University of Canberra commence.


Acquired Australian School of Applied Management (now Women & Leadership Australia) and commenced partnership with Richard Bland College of William & Mary (Virginia, USA).


Queens College, City University of New York (USA) partnership announced and CCEL English language partnership commences in New Zealand.


New partnerships with The Hague University of Applied Sciences (Netherlands); University of Twente (Netherlands); Murdoch University (Dubai, UAE); Lancaster University (Leipzig, Germany) and University of Leicester. Navitas acquired by BGH Capital.


New Canadian partnership with Ryerson University (now Toronto Metropolitan University).


New partnerships with University Academy 92 (Manchester, UK); Wilfrid Laurier University (Ontario, Canada) and Keele University (UK).


Acquisition of Taylors College Sydney (Australia) and University of Waikato College (Tauranga, New Zealand). Partnerships with University of Lethbridge and SRH Universities Germany commence. Charles Sturt University Sydney announced.


Launched Deakin University Lancaster University Indonesia campus. New partnership with ICN Business School in Paris, France. Charles Sturt University Melbourne announced.

Back to Top